Showing posts from March, 2014

The manifestation of goddess Laxmi

The manifestation of goddess Laxmi

Once Bheeshma expressed his desire to know about the manifestation of goddess Laxmi to sage Pulastya.

Thus Pulastya replied-- Once, after being defeated by the demons, the deities went to Lord Vishnu and sought his help. Lord Vishnu instructed them to collect all the medicinal herbs, and put them in the Ksheerasagara, so that after the churning of the ocean ambrosia could be retrieved. Lord Vishnu also advised them to use the Mandara mountain as a Churner and the serpent--Sheshanaga as a rope for churning the ocean. The deities then reached an agreement with the demons according to which both the groups were supposed to unitedly churn the ocean. The great Mandara mountain was uprooted and placed on the back of the tortoise (Kurma)--the embodiment of Lord Vishnu. Sheshanaga coiled around that mountain and both the ends were held by the demons and the deities respectively. The deities intelligently chose the tail-end, while the demons in their foolishnes…

Brahma manasaputras and there children

Brahma manasaputras and there children
Once Bhishma asked sage Pulastya about the four prominent caste and Brahma's manasaputras.
Thus on being asked by Bhishma about the origin of the four prominent castes, Sage Pulastya said--- Lord Brahma created the Brahmins and the Kshatriyas from his mouth and chest respectively. Similarly, Vaishyas and Shudras manifested from Lord Brahma's thigh and feet respectively.Lord Brahma had created his 'manasaputras' with the objective of increasing the population and their names were Bhrigu, Pulaha, Kratu, Angira, Marichi, Daksha, Atri and Vashishtha. But all of them were free from worldly desires and extremely virtuous. Seeing his effort go in vain, Lord Brahma became furious, as a result of which Rudra manifested from his forehead. Half of Rudra's body resembled like a male while the remaining half appeared like a female. Lord Brahma instructed Rudra to detach the female form from his body and commence copulative creation. Followin…

Dwaraka mahatma (greatness)

Dwaraka mahatma (greatness)
Sages' queries to Prahalada

Once, few sages asked Sutaji about the means by which Lord Vishnu could be realized in kaliyuga- the era dominated by sin and decaying moral values.
Sutaji started by describing how Lord Vishnu on seeing the prevalence of sin in Dwapara yuga had to take incarnation as Krishna to liberate the world from the sinners. He also described in detail all the incidents culminating into the killings of many cruel demons -Kaaliya serpent, Chanura, Shishupaala and ogress like Putana. He gave in depth description of the events leading to the war of Mahabharata and how the infighting among the mighty Yadavas led to their destruction. He told them how a fowler mistook Krishna's feet to be a deer and killed him.
Sutaji also told the assembled sages how the magnificent city of Dwarka had been submerged in the ocean ultimately. He revealed to them that the passing away of Krishna marked the advent of Kaliyuga and the situation became even wors…

Prabhasa Khanda (Prabhasa Kshetra)

Prabhasa Khanda
Once, while describing the origin of puranas, sutaji told the sages who had assembled at Naimisharanya-' Lord Shiva had first revealed the contents of Skanda puran to Parvati at Kailash Mountain. Lord Brahma and few other deities were also present there at the time when Shiva was narrating the tale. Subsequently, Parvati narrated this tale to Skanda, Skanda to Nandi and Nandi to sages like Sanaka, etc. and finally Sanaka narrated it to Vyasa. Now I am going to tell you the same tale which Vyasa had narrated to me.'
Sutaji began by saying-' During ancient times, Lord Brahma once did a very austere penance resulting into the manifestation of all the four Vedas. Later on, all the eighteen Puranas too appeared from his mouth. These eighteen Puranas were- Brahma Puran, Vishnu Puran, Shiva Puran, Bhagawat Puran, Bhavishya Puran, Narada Puran, Markandeya Puran, Agni Purana, Brahma vaivarta Purana, Linga Purana, Padma Purana, Varaha Purana, Skanda Purana, Vamana Pura…